Virginia TNC Registration
Effective July 1, 2015, all TNC partners in Virginia must have their vehicle registered as a TNC vehicle. Click here for information on how to get TNC approval for your vehicle online.
The DMV will send you a TNC sticker within 30 days of your approval. During this 30 day grace period you are able to drive with Uber without the sticker. However, once you receive the TNC sticker you must display it on your vehicle. You may be cited for failing to display the TNC registration sticker after the 30 day grace period.
There are three different ways you can register your vehicle for TNC use:
1) Register your vehicle online:
· Virginia titled vehicles can register online here through a MyDMV Account. Applicants who do not have a MyDMV account can create an account and then register the vehicle for TNC use. You can find detailed, step-by-step instructions on how to register online here.
· Non-Virginia titled vehicles can register online here by uploading a copy of the Transportation Network Company (TNC) Registration Application and a copy of the vehicle registration.
2) Visit any Virginia DMV Customer Service Center. The CSC will scan a copy of your documents to the Virginia DMV headquarters. You can find the closest DMV to you by clicking this link.
3) Print out a copy of the Transportation Network Company (TNC) Registration Application and a copy of your vehicle's current registration and fax it or mail it to the following address:
Department of Motor Vehicles
Motor Carrier Services (TNC)
P. O. Box 27412
Richmond, Virginia 23269-0001
Do Not Accept Street Hails
You may not accept street hails (a request for a trip that is not made through the app). Soliciting and/or accepting street hails is a violation of our policy and local and state law. If you violate this policy, your will face severe legal consequences, and you may lose access to the Uber platform.
Display "U" Sign While Operating on the System
Virginia law requires all Uber partners to have trade dress on the passenger rear window as shown. Please order an Uber "U" by clicking the button below - the "U" should arrive within 5-7 business days.
If you are logged into the Uber app, you must have the "U" sign (trade dress) on the passenger side rear window. Click here to order an Uber "U" sign.
Want to Get on the Road?
You can also print, cut and display one on your windshield until your permanent Uber "U sign" arrives by clicking the appropriate button below.
Accessibility Compliance Notification:
Uber expects partners to comply with all state, federal and local laws governing the transportation of riders with disabilities. A transportation partner’s violation of the laws governing the accommodation of riders with disabilities, including with respect to the use of service animals, constitutes a breach of the parties’ Licensing Agreement.
Accordingly, service animals must be accommodated in compliance with accessibility laws. Additionally, partners are expected to accommodate riders using walkers, canes, folding wheelchairs or other assistive devices to the maximum extent possible.
Any report of discrimination will result in temporary account deactivation while Uber reviews the incident. Confirmed violations of the law with respect to accommodation of riders with disabilities may result in permanent loss of access to the Uber platform.
Uber and its affiliates seek to ensure that safe, reliable, and high-quality transportation options are available to everyone. Uber and its affiliates therefore prohibit discrimination against riders or drivers based on race, religion, national origin, disability, sexual orientation, sex, marital status, gender identity, age or any other characteristic protected under applicable federal or state law. Such discrimination includes, but is not limited to, refusing to provide or accept services based on any of these characteristics. Any rider or driver found to have violated this prohibition will lose access to the Uber platform.
Keep Your Insurance Policy in Your Vehicle and Understand How to Access Rasier Policy:
You must carry proof of your personal insurance with you in your vehicle at all times. If you are involved in an accident or pulled over by law enforcement, you may also need to show a copy of the Rasier policy Certificate of Liability Insurance. You can find a copy in your app by going to your account page, selecting Waybill and then clicking the "Certificate of Insurance" link at the bottom of the page. It is important that you understand how to access this policy. Reach out to your city team with any questions.
Immediately Inform Us of Any Changes to Your License Status, Registration, Insurance, and/or Criminal Record:
You are required to notify us of any change in the your driver’s license status, motor vehicle registration, or motor vehicle insurance as well as any arrest or charge for a crime or driving offense, including any arrest or charge that would require you to register on the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry or on the US Department of Justice's National Sex Offenders Public Website. Please Uber Roanoke as soon as any of these changes occur. If we learn that you failed to notify us, you may be subject to immediate deactivation.
Use Your Mobile Device Safely:
You should always operate your smartphone, including any phones with the Uber app, in a manner consistent with local and state laws. Virginia has specific restrictions on using mobile devices while driving. In addition we recommend you review the Virginia DMV's recommendations for avoiding distracted driving, which can be foundhere.
Consult with Appropriate Professionals Regarding Any Consequences of Your Partnership:
We recommend that partners consult with appropriate professionals and authorities regarding the possible financial and contractual consequences of operating on the Uber platform, including consequences for personal income tax and tangible personal property tax liabilities, personal insurance coverage, and financing agreements with vehicle lienholders.
Permit Access to All Service Dogs
Under the Americans with Disabilities Act and other applicable laws, service animals must be permitted to accompany riders with disabilities. We expect all partners to conduct themselves in a legally compliant manner.
·If we receive rider complaints that you refused to abide by the law and transport a service animal, you will lose access to the Uber platform.
· If you are unsure whether an animal is a service animal, you should ask the rider. If they say it is a service animal, you must abide by the law and accept it.
As always, riders are responsible for cleanup fees for damage to the interior or exterior of the vehicle that may occur during a ride. Please take and send us pictures of such damage if clean-up is required.
Immediately Inform us of Any Changes to Your License Status, Registration, Insurance, and/or Criminal Record
Virginia law requires you to notify us of any change in the your driver’s license status, motor vehicle registration, or motor vehicle insurance as well as any arrest or charge for a crime or driving offense, including any arrest or charge that would require you to register on the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry or on the US Department of Justice's National Sex Offenders Public Website. Please contact Uber as soon as any of these changes occur. If we learn that you failed to notify us, you may be subject to immediate deactivation.